Cleric Base development

Zombiesdontrun
Wednesday, September 13th, 2017, 2:09:15 PM

So admittedly I'm new to clericing but I have been browsing the officials quite a bit to get a better idea of how to handle a melee cleric. I've also noticed that generally clerics are in a good place spell wise with only a handful of more minor issues: 1) physical AS tends to fall behind, as not to be practical for high levels, 2) no in combat mana restoring spell or ability (outside of societies), 3) lower bolting AS, 4) lack of reliable knockdown beyond Unbalance, 5) expense of 307 for pure CS clerics. Here is a suggestion on addressing these issues through the 300s.

307 New Spell Make 307 a new spell that provides a scaling bolt AS bonus (identical to current spell) and a scaling physical AS bonus of up to 15 (at level 27) with a max of 25 (+10 bonus AS) with blessing lore. Keep mana costs same as current 307. This allows CS only clerics to skip an expensive spell.

309 Combine 309 and 315 into the same spell with the 315 version using a different trigger (evoke maybe?) and costing more mana.

315 Revised Benediction Provides a flat +15 AS and DS with current 307s group mechanics. This could be scaling if necessary to balance for lower levels. Mana cost for current 307 at 27 (when the group benefits max) is 17 so a cost of 15 mana isn't unreasonable. Keep the blessing lore bennefits of current 307.

320 Manuever spell I believe this is the GMs preferred vision for the spell and I have no real flavor suggestion. I would just request a crit that provides a good chance for knockdown.

Combat Mana Regen Since this is also an issue for empaths, it would make sense to address through the 200s. Unfortunately the only open slots in that circle are 235 and 250, which seem costly for a mana regen ability. I have no real suggestion here just pointing out the shared issue.